Notice: If you are a dues paid member of FSAARC it does not mean you automatically have an account on the site. You need to register before you can access the members section of the site.




    • Section 1. The name of this organization shall be FORT SMITH AREA AMATEUR RADIO CLUB.  This organization shall attempt to maintain affiliation with the American Radio Relay League through the required number of individual memberships in the American Radio Relay League by members of this organization.
    • Section 2. It shall be a non-profit organization in compliance with the Articles of Incorporation approved by the State of Arkansas, and certified on the 4th day of April 1966.  No monies of this organization shall inure to the benefit of any member.
    • The object of this organization is the furtherance of the interests of the Amateur Radio community, through education, fellowship, and various activities involving the field of Amateur Radio.
    • Section 1.  Any FCC-licensed Amateur Radio Operator, or any person interested in the field of Amateur Radio, may become members of this club by submitting proper application and payment of dues, as set forth in the Standing Rules.  Non-licensed members shall have no voting rights, and may not hold elective office, but may participate in all club functions, and serve on committees.
    • Section 2.  Termination of Membership:
      • Any member who does not pay dues within grace period stated in the Standing Rules shall be terminated as a Member until proper payment is made.
      • A member may resign by submitting such resignation in writing, but such resignation shall not relieve a member so resigning of the obligation to pay any dues, assessments, or other charges unpaid at the time of resignation.
      • A member may have his membership revoked for undesirable conduct, if the Board of Directors, in closed meeting, finds such actions exist, and are not corrected by the member.  A majority vote of the voting members of the Board is required for such revocation.
      • Any former member of the Club may rejoin upon submission of application of membership and tender of appropriate dues, except a member whose membership has previously been revoked.  A revoked membership may be reinstated only on an individual basis, after investigation by the Board of Directors determines that unacceptable conduct has been corrected, and the Board recommends reinstatement to the membership.  A majority vote of members present and voting is required to reinstate such member.
    • Section 1.  The officers of this organization shall be a President, a Vice President, a Secretary and a Treasurer.  The offices of Secretary and Treasurer may be combined.
    • Section 2.  The officers may be elected by ballot or by voice vote, if more than one candidate for an office exists, or by voice vote if only one candidate exists.  The term of newly elected officers shall be for one year, or until their successors are elected and assume office.  The term of office shall begin January 1st.
    • Section 3.  A vacancy in the office of President shall be filled by the current Vice President.  A vacancy in the other offices shall be filled by the Board of Directors by appointment.
    • Section 4.  The Board of Directors of the Club shall consist of the elected officers of the preceding year and the current elected Committee Chairman.  Current Club Officers are members ex officio of the Board of Directors, but may not vote. The Board of Directors shall elect from their members a Chairman of the Board, and a Vice Chairman of the Board. The Club Secretary shall serve as Board Secretary.   In the event that a vacancy occurs in the Board of Directors during the year the vacancy shall be filled in the following manner. Chairman from the following committees shall serve on the board of Directors for the remainder of the term in the order listed below.

      Hamfest Committee
      Repeater Committee
      Activities Committee
      Bulletin Committee   (amended 11/21/2011)

    • Section 5.  The duties of the Officers and the Board of Directors shall be as set forth in the Standing Rules.

    • Section 1.  The regular meetings of the club shall be at the time and place advised the membership in the club bulleting, or as specified in the Standing Rules.
    • Section 2.  The Annual meeting shall be held in the Month of November, for the purpose of electing officers.  New Officers and Board Members will be installed at the December meeting.
    • Section 3.  The Board of Directors shall meet at least once each quarter, to conduct such business as may become necessary.
    • Elections of Officers and elected Committee Chairman shall take place at the Annual meeting.  Only members in good standing and who are FCC licensed may vote.
    • Section 1.  There shall be the following committees whose Chairmen shall be elected by the membership:
      • Activities
      • Bulletin
      • Repeater
    • Section 2.  There shall be the following committees whose Chairmen shall be appointed by the President:
      • Auditing
      • Budget and Finance
      • Bylaws
    • Section 3.  The Liaison Officer with ARRL for Volunteer Examinations  by VE Teams representing the Club shall be a member of the Board of Directors.
    • Section 4.  All committee chairmen shall solicit and select such other committee members as is felt necessary for proper operation of the committee.
    • Section 5.  Annual reports shall be made by all committee chairmen at the end of their term, to be published in the January Club Bulletin.
    • The most recent edition of Robert’s Rules of Order shall be the parliamentary authority for all matters of procedure for this club not specifically covered by its Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws, and Standing Rules.
    • These Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of members present and voting at any regular meeting, provided notice of such amendment shall have been given in writing to the membership at least two (2) weeks previous to that meeting.
    • A quorum shall consist of twenty five percent (25%) of the regular membership at the club meetings.  A majority of the voting members of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum for Board meetings.
    • All reference to the male gender shall be interpreted to mean either male or female gender.
    • To effect dissolution of this organization, the Bylaws must be rescinded by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the regular membership after ten (10) days notice has been mailed to each member.  In the event of dissolution, the corporate charter shall be invalidated according to the laws of the State of Arkansas.  All net assets shall go to an education or civic project designated by the membership pursuant to Section 501(C)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code.



Fort Smith Area Amateur Radio Club

PO BOX 32 FORT SMITH AR 72902-0032