Minutes of the October 2015 meeting of the Fort Smith Area Amateur Radio Club




The September 2015 Meeting of the Fort Smith Area Amateur Radio Club as called to order on September 21, 2015 at 7:00 pm by Jimmie Lowery,W5JNL, Club President.

The First Order of Business was approval of the Minutes from the August Meeting, the Minutes were posted on the Club Website, a Motion was made by Art Sellers, W3TZ, to approve the Minutes as they appeared on the Website, Motion was seconded by Mike Bell, K5JMB, the Motion was approved Unanimously.

Cathy Haugh, K5UYT, Club Treasurer presented the Treasurer’s Report. We had a Beginning Balance of $5290.35 with a Deposit of $10.00 and one payment of $18.00 leaving a Balance of $5912.35. Wayne Johnson, W5OFN, made a motion to approve the Treasurer’s Report, seconded by Mike Bell, K5JMB, and the motion was approved Unanimously.


Mike Cole, W5TMC, reported that at the present time we are waiting on two more ARRL directors to give their OK for our HAMFEST to be the host of the Delta Division Convention next year.

A discussion was held concerning next month’s meeting and whether we wanted to have a picnic/pot luck dinner in conjunction with the meeting. After discussion, a poll was taken by a show of hands and it was decided to NOT to have a picnic/pot luck dinner, just to have the meeting. Nominations for Club Officers will be made at the October meeting.


Jimmie Lowery, W5JNL, reported that he had not heard anything on the Yaesu Repeater that had been ordered.


Charles Floyd, W5JE, passed around two letters to the Arkansas Senators, concerning Ham Radio Antennas in Home Owner Association areas, those who lived in Arkansas were encouraged to sign them and he would forward them to the Senators.

A Letter of Thanks from KG5CBM, Kenneth Baucum, thanking the Club for cooperation in using the 146.64 repeater during the OK Freewheel 2015 while they were in the Poteau/Ft. Smith area.

Announcements were made and being no further business, Mike Bell, K5JMB made a motion to adjourn the meeting, Motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Steve Rutherford, WC5SR

FSAARC Secretary