Minutes of the Fort Smith Amateur Radio Club December 2018

The December 2018 Meeting of the Fort Smith Area Amateur Radio Club was held on December 15, 2018 at the Western Sizzlin on Towson Ave in Ft. Smith, Ar at our Annual Club Banquet. The Meeting was called to order at 3:51 pm by Jimmie Lowrey W5JNL, Club President.

Minutes from the previous Meeting were posted on the Club Website, Motion by Erik Wilke KG5WOY to approve the Minutes as posted, seconded by Joel Goldstein W5GOL. Motion was approved Unanimously.

  • Cathy Haugh KF5UYT, Club Treasurer presented the Treasurer’s Report as follows:
  • 50/50 Drawing (2) Meetings 60.00
  • DUES PAID 150.00
  • NEW BALANCE : $5,005.21
  • 11/19 W5ANR 20.00
  • 12/20 REPEATER ELEC. 42.00
  • 12/15 BANQUET PRIZES 85.40
  • ENDING BALANCE: $4,857.81

Joel Goldstein W5GOL made a Motion to approve the Treasurer’s Report as presented, Mike Cole W5TMC seconded the Motion and it was approved unanimously.

REPEATER REPORT by Wayne Johnson W5OFN gave the Repeater Report, no new reports, removal of Wasps will be needed and mowing will also be needed this Spring.

Mike Cole W5TMC reported on several upcoming events. The Hamfest location has still not been verified for the 1st Weekend of April at the Sebastian County EOC. We had positive response on the food last year so it will be the same this year. Mike questioned the amount to spend on PRIZES for the HAMFEST, we spent $2500.00 last year a vote was taken and the vote was $2,500 – 9 Votes, $3,000.00, so we will be giving away $3,000.00 worth of gifts this year. Mike then introduced Jay Ferguson from Little Rock, Section Manager for ARRL.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

Jay Ferguson then gave a Presentation on the ARRL, opened the floor for questions, there were none. He then gave out some Door Prizes to attendees.

CLUB OFFICERS FOR 2019 were then introduced:


President: Jimmie Lowrey W5JNL

Vice-President: Jim Weaver KM5YV

Secretary: Steve Rutherford WC5SR

Treasurer: John Annis WO0OOO

Being No Further Business, a Motion was made to adjourn and was approved UNANIMOUSLY. The Meeting was adjourned @ 4:25 pm.

Respectfully Submitted: Steve Rutherford WC5SR FSAARC Club Secretary.